Subject Matter Experts and Program Evaluations

Institutions submitting a program for approval may be required to provide a program evaluation.

Designated/interim designated institutions applying for approval of a Class A program must submit a program evaluation. 

The registrar may also require a program evaluation from a registered institution who submits a Class A program for approval, a designated/interim designated institution who submits a Class B or Class C program for approval, or an institution who submits a program change that requires approval.  

It is the responsibility of the institution to pay for the program evaluation. 

The registrar may appoint subject matter experts (SME) as inspectors.

SMEs and program evaluators  must have expertise in career occupations that are relevant to the program of instruction. They must not receive any benefit from the institution, other than the payment from the evaluation, nor be a related party. 

The Private Training Institutions Branch (PTIB) has approved the SMEs listed below. These SMEs made submissions to the Ministry of Advanced Education, Skills and Training through BC Bid. The list will be updated as PTIB approves SMEs.

Institutions may select any of the pre-approved SMEs to complete a program evaluation as long as the SME has expertise in career occupations that are relevant to the program submitted for approval. 

You should first contact PTIB to confirm the SME is qualified to review the program you are submitting for approval. If the list does not include an appropriate SME, or if you want to hire a program evaluator that is not included in the list, please contact PTIB to confirm the program evaluator has relevant expertise to prepare a program evaluation.  

For more information, see the Guidelines for Subject Matter Experts and Program Evaluators, or Chapter 2 of the Private Training Act Policy Manual

Subject Name Specific Area(s) of Expertise Contact Location
Business Enrique Arce Business Management, Finance, Accounting, Human Resources lucerobizconsulting@gmail.com Vancouver
Business Susan Boras Business - General susan@squareholecoaching.com Vancouver
Business Gillian Bubb Accounting swifteducation@outlook.com Vancouver
Business Virginia-Rae Choquette Marketing virginia@cloud9marketing.ca Vancouver
Business Baljit Dhaliwal Finance and Payroll baljit@taxfreepeople.com Fraser Valley
Business David Gamble International Trade dgamble@beanwizard.com Fraser Valley
Business Mary Gamble Accounting, Finance mary.gamble@ivaluesolutions.com Fraser Valley
Business Monica Hird Office Administration mmch99@outlook.com Vancouver
Business Vandana Khetarpal Business - General khetarpal.vandana@gmail.com Fraser Valley
Business Gordon Mulligan Business - General gdmulligan77@gmail.com Vancouver
Business Amr Shokry Human Resources ab_shokry@hotmail.com Vancouver
Business Abdul Vance Business Management aqvance@gmail.com Fraser Valley
Business Krishna Kumar Varma International Trade kumvar@yahoo.com Vancouver
Computer and Information Systems Virginia-Rae Choquette Graphic Design, Sovial Media, Web Design virginia@cloud9marketing.ca Vancouver
Computer and Information Systems Michael Filimowicz Digital Media, Sound/Audio Recording michael@filimowi.cz Vancouver
Computer and Information Systems Edward Gervan Animation Design, Digital Media tgervan@vfs.com Vancouver
Computer and Information Systems Vasudevan Janarthanan Web Development, Software Programming, Networking and Cyber Security, Database Systems, Operating Systems, Computer Hardware, Mobile Computing, Cloud Computing v_janart@fdu.edu Vancouver
Computer and Information Systems Arpanjot Sidhu Web Development, Software Programming arpanjot@gmail.com Fraser Valley
Computer and Information Systems Bob Therriault Digital Film and Video bobtherriault@mac.com Fraser Valley
Computer and Information Systems Troy Welch Graphic Design, Web Design, Web Development twelch@tru.ca Interior
Distance Education Greg Link Distance Education glink@shaw.ca Vancouver Island
Distance Education Bob Therriault Distance Education bobtherriault@mac.com Vancouver Island
Early Childhood Education Barbara Duffy Early Childhood Education bjduffy@shaw.ca Interior
Early Childhood Education Janet Fox Early Childhood Education janfox615@hotmail.com Vancouver Island
Early Childhood Education Karin Potgieter Early Childhood Education ecekp@shaw.ca Interior
Early Childhood Education Ofelia Rosca Early Childhood Education ofelia.rosca@gmail.com Fraser Valley
English as a Second Language Shahid Abrar-ul-Hassan English as a Second Language shahid@alumni.ubc.ca Vancouver
English as a Second Language Lois Armerding English as a Second Language lois.armerding@gmail.com Vancouver
English as a Second Language Jennifer Boeda English as a Second Language, International English Language Testing System jboeda@telus.net Vancouver
English as a Second Language Shawna Cole English as a Second Language shawnalyncole@gmail.com Vancouver
English as a Second Language Barbara Forster-Rickard English as a Second Language bforsterrickard@telus.net Vancouver
English as a Second Language David Gordon-MacDonald English as a Second Language gor-macd@hotmail.com Vancouver
English as a Second Language Gwen Pawlikowski English as a Second Language gwenpawlikowski@gmail.com Vancouver
English as a Second Language Terry Vanderveen English as a Second Language tvan10@mail.com Fraser Valley
English as a Second Language Stephen Wade English as a Second Language stephenteachesenglish@hotmail.com Vancouver
Esthetics Roxana Da Costa Esthetics xanazone@shaw.ca Vancouver Island
Esthetics Louise Dannhauer Esthetics ldannhauer@vcc.ca Fraser Valley
Esthetics Lucy Griffith Esthetics lucyegriffith@gmail.com Fraser Valley
Esthetics Debbie Nickel Esthetics debbiefivecents@yahoo.ca Vancouver
Health Gail Abernethy Osteopathy gabernethy@shaw.ca Vancouver Island
Health Agnes Arevalo Dental Assistant magnes.arevalo@gmail.com Vancouver
Health Jill Arnold Counselling, Hypnotherapy jillarnold@shaw.ca Fraser Valley
Health Patricia Bawtinheimer Health Care Assistant, Practical Nursing pbawtinheimer@msm.com Fraser Valley
Health Chanchal Cabrera Herbology chanchal@chanchalcabrera.com Vancouver Island
Health Melissa Carr Acupuncture, Herbology, Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioner, Doctor of Traditional Chinese Medicine, Tui Na drcarr@activetcm.com Vancouver
Health Claire Cote Massage Therapy c.cote.rmt@gmail.com Fraser Valley
Health Laura Cullen Dietitian lcullen@langara.ca Vancouver
Health Tristaca Curley Dietitian tristaca@yahoo.com Interior
Health Taranjeet Dhaliwal Community Support Worker, FoodSafe taranonthego@gmail.com Fraser Valley
Health Jennifer Harris Veterinary Office Assistant jenandkent@shaw.ca Vancouver Island
Health Billie Jane Hermosura Dietitian billiejane@nutritionintel.com Vancouver
Health Monica Hird Medical Office Assistant mmch99@outlook.com Fraser Valley
Health Anne Horng Registered Massage Therapy annehorng@me.com Vancouver
Health Ferzana Jamani Counselling, Social Worker, Addictions Counsellor ferzanajamani@gmail.com Vancouver
Health Laurianne Jodouin Health Care Assistant, Practical Nursing ljodouin@outlook.com Vancouver Island
Health Catherine King Fitness catherine@westcoastconditioning.ca Interior
Health Declan Lawlor Primary Care Paramedic, First Aid declanis@shaw.ca Vancouver
Health Fred MacDonald Social Work fredmacdonald9@gmail.com Vancouver Island
Health Lori-Ann MacLeod Holistic Health, Reiki Master, Shiatsu Therapist alidee6199@gmail.com Vancouver Island
Health Shemina Patni Dietitian sheminap@gmail.com Vancouver
Health Patricia Scott Medical Office Assistant patti@westcoastmoa.com Fraser Valley
Health Linda Shires Dental Assistant lshires@shaw.ca Fraser Valley
Health Keith Tyler Primary Care Paramedic, First Aid keith@pcptraining.info Vancouver
Health Carl Wassink Primary Care Paramedic, First Aid carl.wassink@bcehs.ca Interior
Hospitality Nicole Beaulieu Hospitality, Tourism nmbeaulieu@gmail.com Fraser Valley
Hospitality Susan Boras Hospitality, Tourism susan@squareholecoaching.com Vancouver
Hospitality John Brouwer Hospitality, Tourism ctcjohn@gmail.com Fraser Valley
Hospitality Reda Escaros Hospitality, Tourism ancgm1@gmail.com Vancouver
Hospitality Vikram Nair Hospitality, Tourism nairvikram@hotmail.com Vancouver
Hospitality Dugald Nasmith Adventure Tourism dugaldn@telus.net Vancouver Island
Other Ruth Enns Music collegeregistrar@vam.bc.ca Vancouver
Other Michael Filimowicz Photography michael@filimowi.cz Vancouver
Other Robert Kitching Maritime Training roarsong@shaw.ca Vancouver Island
Other Mike Soley Security, Policing, Justice mike.soley@gmail.com Vancouver
Trades Jim Anderson Heavy Equipment Operator, Waste Water Treatment jaltd@shaw.ca Vancouver Island
Trades Brent Bourne Building Services brent.bourne@gmail.com Vancouver Island
Trades Colleen McClean Culinary Arts cmcclean@shaw.ca Fraser Valley
Trades Peter Schroeder Hairdressing psch@shaw.ca Vancouver
Trades Starlette Tolver Hairdressing sdtolver@outlook.com Fraser Valley